mental health · Uncategorized

Making Progress

maxresdefaultFeatured image by bladespark.deviantart.com

It has been a while since I’ve written. Winter is one of the seasons where things tend to become harder for me, and the tiredness comes so naturally. The weather brings about memories that are bittersweet. Winter is a time where I feel a lack of progress. But today, it became a little easier.

I got out of bed; I made progress.

I brushed my teeth, combed my hair, and took my medicine; I made progress.

I went to every single one of my classes today and had the homework ready to turn in; that’s progress.

I came home and remembered to eat before work; progress.

I’m writing this; and this is progress. 

You see, making progress doesn’t have to be joining every organization on campus, or doing a whole semester’s worth of homework in one night. Progress can be making that phone call to order food, even when you have severe phone anxiety. It can be making your bed in the morning, wearing jeans to class, showering when you wake up, or texting the friend you always keep forgetting to text.

My progress today was easier, but there’s no promise that tomorrow will be the same. I’ve been in situations where I’ve stepped back from progress. I’ve missed classes from not being able to move from bed. I’ve avoided situations that needed my attention because the anxiety became unbearable. I’ve even overworked because of anxiety, which sounds wild, but it’s happened.

We have to remember that we are not in a race with others. Just because someone is excelling in their field does not mean you aren’t. Just because someone got that internship doesn’t mean you will never get one.  Progress is not a race.

Sometimes I forget that. I forget that I am on a completely different path than others, just like everyone else is. We all are doing our best to make it, and it falls easier to some than it does to others. It may be easy for him to wake up early and go on a jog, but maybe he struggles to fall asleep. It may be easy for her to finish her math homework in twenty minutes, but maybe history class isn’t her strong suit.

I may be bad at being on time, but I showed up. That’s progress.

Don’t let someone else’s achievements mark where your are, or where yours should be. Take your own steps, be in your own race, progress at your own speed, because we are all just trying to make it to the finish line.

 

 

 

Leave a comment